The Ogden Surgical-Medical Society (OSMS) is a CME community created by and for medical professionals, providing a platform for empowering health-care professionals through education and collaboration since 1946.

Our annual conference is designed to keep health providers current through diverse, expert-led discussions and presentations, hands-on labs, and professional dialogue with colleagues, which improve overall competence and performance, and enable improved patient care.

Founded in 1946, we are the longest serving continuing medical education (CME) organization west of the Mississippi. Conference participants come from across the country. We offer accreditation to MDs and DOs and other societies accept this accreditation: Podiatrists, Nurse Practitioners, Physician Assistants, and EMS Professionals. Our meeting is one of the first of its kind to meet the standards established by national medical accrediting bodies, and has been attended by thousands of physicians over the years.

To help our community members lead change in their medical practices, we assemble a number of thought leaders comprised of recognized faculty, and eminent medical scientists and practitioners who address current concerns and future trends through informed presentations. Past guest speakers represent more than 50 different medical colleges and universities, 29 states and eight countries.

Our members’ time is valuable, so we ensure that our conference time is well spent. Members have opportunities for formal and informal collaboration through participation in working labs and meals during the day, and social dinners and activities in the evening. While here, be sure to take advantage of all Ogden has to offer from diverse shopping and dining venues, as well as outdoor recreation in and around the Wasatch Mountain Range.

Board of Directors

ChairMarc Johnson, MD
Co-ChairHeather Heileson, MD
TreasurerStephen Scharmann, MD
CME ChairChad M. Gonzales, MD
SecretaryBryan Campbell, MD
Program PresidentKurt E. Rifleman, MD
Program President ElectMichael Webb, MD
Program Past PresidentJason R. Hoagland, MD
Trustee #1Rhonda Lehr, MD
Trustee #2Douglas K. Anderson, MD
Trustee/HistorianVal Johnson, MD
Member-at-LargeFrank Brown, MD
Member-at-LargeAlbert Hartman, MD
Member-at-LargeHarry O. Senekjian, MD
Member-at-LargeRobert Whipple, MD
Executive DirectorTeresa Puskedra

Finance Committee

Treasurer/ChairSteve Scharmann, MD
ChairMarc Johnson, MD
Co-ChairHeather Heileson, MD
SecretaryBryan Campbell, MD
Program PresidentKurt E. Rifleman, MD
Program President ElectMichael Webb, MD
Program Past PresidentJason R. Hoagland, MD
Trustee/HistorianVal Johnson, MD
Executive DirectorTeresa Puskedra

CME Committee

CME ChairChad M. Gonzales, MD
ChairMarc Johnson, MD
Co-ChairHeather Heileson, MD
TrusteeDouglas K. Anderson, MD
Past PresidentJason R. Hoagland, MD
SecretaryBryan Campbell, MD

Advisory Board

Advisory Board PresidentKurt E. Rifleman, MD
OtolaryngologyDouglas K. Anderson, MD
Family MedicineRichard Arbogast, MD
Family MedicineFrank H. Brown, MD
Family MedicineBryan Campbell, MD
Social WorkerNancy X. Card, LCSW
GastroenterologistChad M. Gonzales, MD
Family MedicineRichard Gregoire, MD
OB/GYNAlbert Hartman, MD
Emergency MedicineHeather Heileson, MD
PediatricsJason R. Hoagland, MD
Family MedicineMark Housley, MD
OB/GYNAudrey Jiricko, MD
Family MedicineMarc Johnson, MD
PathologyVal Johnson, MD
PsychiatryRhonda Lehr, MD
OB/GYNKirk Lammi, DO
Family MedicineAdam Nebeker, MD
Sports MedicineStephen Scharmann, MD
NephrologyHarry Senekjian, MD
Emergency MedicineMichael Webb, MD 
General SurgeryRobert Whipple, MD
Registered NurseTrina White, RN

Program Committee

ChairKurt E. Rifleman, MD
MembersBoard Members

Nominating Committee

Chair/Program PresidentAlbert Hartman, MD
Program Past PresidentRobert C. Moesinger, MD 
TrusteeRhonda Lehr, MD